Maryam Monsef

Your member of parliament for


Maryam Monsef

Your member of parliament for



Statement: Monsef congratulates all involved in municipal election

Ottawa – Maryam Monsef, Member of Parliament for Peterborough—Kawartha, made the following statement in regards to the municipal election:

“Putting your name on a ballot in hopes of representing your community is admirable. I want to thank everyone who ran for mayor, deputy mayor, councillor, or school trustee in Peterborough-Kawartha during this municipal election.

“I would like to congratulate all of the new mayors in the riding; Carolyn Amyotte, North Kawartha Township, Andy Mitchell, Township of Selwyn, Jim Martin, Township of Havelock-Belmont-Methuen, and Diane Therrien, City of Peterborough. I would also like to congratulate Janet Clarkson who returns as mayor of the Municipality of Trent Lakes, and J. Murray Jones for being acclaimed in the Township of Douro-Dummer.

“We need all levels of government working together to ensure Peterborough-Kawartha continues to prosper. That includes addressing our housing shortage, continuing to create jobs and grow the economy, building infrastructure, and providing supports for the middle class and those looking to join it.

“I must also recognize and convey my gratitude to all those leaving office for their dedication and service to the people of Peterborough-Kawartha.

“Democracy only works if people exercise their right to vote. Thank you to everyone who headed to the polls and made sure their voice was heard.”


For more information:

Ryan Young

Special Assistant (Communications) to the Hon. Maryam Monsef

Member of Parliament for Peterborough-Kawartha

Cell: 705-927-7315